Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Brass life w/ & w/o case lube

jmbaccolyte

Will my brass last longer if I use case lube? It seems like it might be easier on the brass.

I'm using once fired Rem & Fed .40 brass with 24 year old Dillon dies. The brass was shot through Beretta 96Ds and HK USP Compacts. I'm shooting the reloads in a Tanfo/EAA Witness Elite Match. I'm okay with the effort involved in resizing, I'm just asking about case life.

I apologize if this was asked before, I couldn't find it on a search of the forum.

I don't use case lube when reloading straight wall pistol cases. I do tumble clean, but then it goes into the reloader.

I'm no expert, but I can't see this "helping" the brass, only making a diff in the effort required to size.

I throw my brass in a plastic tub, shoot a one second shot of hornady lube, shake the tub, spray a half second shot, let it dry and then load them. It really makes a difference in loading and the lube doesnt have to be cleaned off.

Its worth it in my opinion.

Lubing cases may not increase the life of the case. It does reduce the work/strain on the loading tool and the operator. I have found NO downside to lube!

This is a game/activity where absolutes should not be used. I use pure lanolin to lube my .223 brass so if I don't clean my brass after sizing I have a flipping mess later. The 40,45 & 9mm don't get lubed because they get deprimed in a single stage press with compound leverage. Don't get me wrong, when I first started loading 9mm I lubed but I found I was getting a sticky residue on the brass after a few weeks so I stopped using it because I didn't want to clean the brass again.

I try to only offer advice and leave the you can do this or you can't do this to the Federal Government.