Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Bunchies' Training

Bunchies95

At the beginning of the year, I decided that I should attend the major matches in my area this year. The matches I have decided to attend are Space City Challenge, Double Tap and the Area 4 Championship. Attending these matches is the perfect incentive for me to improve.

I have been shooting USPSA matches for about 6 months now. Originally I just entered a local match as a means to be more comfortable with the gun that I owned. The philosophy of it being a means to pass a Saturday lasted only a few matches. After consulting some of the better local shooters, I dove head first into the sport and bought all the equipment I needed. I decided to use the Springfield XDm 5.25 9mm competition model, modified by Springer Precision, to use in Production. Right now, I am a "C" class shooter at ~42%.

Up until this point, my improvement has been minimal as my practice sessions have been unorganized and sporadic at most. Realizing that without focused training, I would remain an average shooter and improve at a very minimal pace. I am working on developing a training program for myself.

The past couple of nights, I have been dry firing using the drills in the first of Steve Anderson's books. I have been focusing on the "core classifier" skill drills as my gun handling needs to be the first thing to improve. Tonight was the first night that I was able to get through all 14 drills as I had no idea what my par times should be. Here are the baseline par times:

1.) Sight Picture confirmation: 1.2 sec

2.) 10-Yard Index: 1.3 sec

3.) 10-Yard Surrender Index: 1.4 sec

4.)Turn and draw: 1.6 sec

5.) Strong Hand Index: 1.7 sec

6.)Weak Hand Index: 2.0 sec

7.)Burkett Reloads: 1.3 sec

8.) 6 Reload 6: 8.3 sec

9.) Surrender 6, Reload 6: 8.5 sec

10.) El Prez: 8.5 sec

11.) 6 reload Strong: 9.2 sec

12.) 6 Reload Weak: 9.8 sec

13.) Front sight Forward: 4.0 sec

14.) Front Sight Turn: 4.3 sec