Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Critiques and Suggested Dry/Live Drills?

JoeinLA

Hello, I've been shooting for about 6 months now, and am feeling fairly comfortable with how I'm progressing; but I'm always looking to get better.

Here's a video of a stage from my last match, which is a steel action pistol setup (it's the only "competition" that I do, and it's once a month). I think this represents the best that I'm doing right now.

To me, I can see 2 specific areas of improvement: 1. work on reloading MUCH faster, and 2. work on faster initial target/sight acquisition. Another thing I'm doing wrong is not seeing targets at all (I get a sort of tunnel vision, I think), but I'm not sure how to fix that without slowing down much too much.

My regular range doesn't allow drawing from the holster or shooting while moving or anything like that - it's a "static shoot from the table" type place. I can go out to a range that will allow me to practice more liberally, but only once every week or two as it's a bit farther away.

Anyways, please let me know your thoughts/comments/advice, and also if you can suggest any specific drills that you think would be helpful (particularly in light of the fact that I can't shoot live every day), that would be greatly appreciated.

Here's the link. I guess I can't just paste it here since I'm too new (if someone wants to link it, that would be awesome):

it's: smugmug (dot) com / gallery / 20146687_FQ4vMz [Just remove all the spaces]. Sorry, the forum software won't seem to let me actually link it's b/c I'm too new.

Thanks!

Edited by JoeinLA

Joe, dryfire took me a long way in shooting sports. Below is a video that I made a few years ago with some drills:

And here are three links to different threads that I've created pertaining to dryfiring:

Linky 1

Linky 2 (and I apologize, the video link is broken there :closedeyes:

Linky 3 (which contains some discussion pertaining to the video linked above).