Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

trigger control and cold fingers

Mr Unnatural

Hi

Don't know if it's in the right forum topic, so feel free to move it to a more appropriate place.

My new standard gun is on it's journey to me and I have the opportunity to discus the trigger tuning with my gunsmith who will do the final tuning.

I prefer a short pick up and a very crisp brake with a short over travel. Lately while training in the cold I'm getting not a good feel for picking up the trigger slack with my current gun. I have no experience/comparison by shooting different triggers in the cold.

So I was wondering if you consider shooting in cold circumstances when deciding on tuning the trigger. If so what are your considerations and what did you decide on.

Regards,

Rick

PS

If you think I'm over thinking it, I'd like to hear that to.

Depends on your shooting style. If you end up slapping trigger anyway, then it doesn't matter if you cannot feel the initial take up and the trigger break. If you are a precision rifle or bullseye pistol shooter, then knowing when the trigger breaks would be a lot more important to you. In that case, it may not be a matter of having enough pre-travel, but rather having enough trigger weight to give you the needed feedback. Irregardless whether you are a slapper or a squeezer, it's important that the sights are where you want them, and they don't move when you initiate the action.

Edited by Skydiver

Hi

The way I press my trigger depends on the dificulty of the shot. I do not have one specific style (yet). It is for my IPSC standard gun.

In comparing 'trigger jobs" I have found that for me I find the "character" of the trigger is more important how I feel/perceive the trigger than the actual measured weight of the trigger. I don't know if this makes sense for others but this is the best I can describe my personal observations.