Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Accuracy Help

abcxyz

Hi,

I'm new to handguns and have recently purchased a Sig 239 9mm.  I've gone to the range about 4 times now and have shot about 450 rounds.  I've had no formal training (except for a basic handgun course on how to properly handle and use a firearm), and have just been reading a lot on the internet about proper grip, stance, breathing, focusing on front sight, etc.  In the first range session I shot about 150 rounds and the groups were relatively consitent, but low.  I printed that improvement target from sportshooter.com and used that.  I believe my head is slanted downward when shooting that's why the shots were low.  Should the head be completely straight?  It feels like I'm almost looking up.  

Also, I think my stance is messed up.  I feel more comfortable with the Weaver stance, but I'm not sure if my arms are In the proper position etc.  From what I know, I should have my right arm straight out and elbow locked, my left arm should be bent at the elbow, but is the elbow supposed to be pointing straight down are like in a "southwest" angle --naturally my elbow points in to the southwest, so to point it straight down requires slight effort from what my arm naturally does.  I'm not sure which is the correct position.  

I went to the range yesterday and was trying the Isocoles stance, it doesn't feel as comfortable.  Anyway, all my shots were all over the place yesterday, I was switching between Isocoles and Weaver just to see which would feel better etc.  Probably not a good idea to switch back and forth cuz my shots were everywhere no matter which stance I was in.  Probably lost concentration.  

Anyway, any help would be appreciated.  Thanks!

Hi there!  Welcome to the forums and most importantly welcome to shooting!!!

Sounds like you're off to a good start.  You may want to try checking out http://www.mattburkett.com