Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Training "regimen" for a beginner

narwhal

Hi,

I'm a beginner shooter. I joined IDPA and have shot half a dozen matches. I plan on doing a few IPSC matches and will probably join the local IPSC club as well assuming I don't hate it. Anyway I typically finish in the top 25% or so in the local IDPA matches but I'm still not very close to the top shooters.

I carry a pistol every day on the job. I want to get good. I want to practice a lot.

Does anyone publish a "diet" or regimen on taking someone from mediocre to decent. I shoot M&P's right now, all in .40, I have 3 of them and usually use the "pro series" 40 which has a 4.25" barrel and night sights. I have a shot timer, holsters, and magazine pouches.

Unfortunately my job puts me on the road and unable to shoot for 4-5 days per week. I can go to the range twice per week. The rest of the time I can do dry fire. Is it possible to improve in this situation?

I've been practicing with some master level shooters every week at my range. I usually double their times on any given course of fire, with similar points down. Granted they are shooting open guns but I'm guessing that doesn't matter too much. I'd like get closer to 150% of their times by the end of the year.

Any recommendations are appreciated.

Edited by narwhal