Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Trying to shoot better

dagger10k

I've been shooting USPSA since September 2009.

I started out with a CZ75b in .40 s&w.

Being in California, I shoot in Limited 10.

After shooting it for a while, I became tired of the tiny grip (I have large hands),

and moved onto a Glock 20 with a KKM conversion barrel in .40s&w and Sevigny competition sights.

I like the Glock, and have shot it with some success in competition.

Today I went to the range after work to work on my project of being able to call shots effectively, and to be able to shoot good groups.

I am still struggling with this. I put maybe 150-200 rounds downrange at the public line, some standing, some off of sandbags,

trying to see more than I am.

I always read about "seeing the sight lift," but I am not entirely sure that I know what that means.

In my shooting, I usually see the front sight right up until the shot, when it disappears and pops into place above where it was.

I see the brass come flying out of the gun (very easy to do with this gun and ammo), and then the sight either comes back into place in the rear notch or stays up there if I am not trying to time it.

I am not sure if there is more to see than what I am. I don't think I'm blinking, but I'm also pretty sure I'm not really calling my shots.

In competition I don't know if I missed steel before hearing it, and I know it slows me down.

The shots are often a bit low, often low left, sometimes dead on, and even occasionally right or high (by up to around 4 inches at 25 yards),

but I couldn't tell you where the shots will be before looking through the binoculars.

I am pretty sure that the gun is sighted in correctly, I can balance a dime on top of my front sight in dry fire, but I can't make the bullets go where I want in live fire,