Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Maximum dose of N320 115 grain 9mm

winter5470

I have loaded over 12,000 rounds of 115 MG CMJ with 4.4 grains N320 OAL of 1.155. Out of my glock 19 I get an avg. 1121 ft/sec. PF - 129. That is what I have been shooting for 2 years. When I worked up the load if I used 4.5 grains I got an avg. 1133 ft/sec. PF - 130.

I just bought a springfield 1911 9mm. It runs on my 4.4 grain reolads but it will only lock the slide back half of the time. I have posted on another thread to get ideas. One suggestion was to increase the power factor to 135. My lyman manual shows max of 4.5 grains. VV website shows 4.5 grains max. Steves reloading page says 4.9 grains max. I am planning on going slow and make a couple dozen rounds as I increase the powder by .1 grain. But I have very little experience looking for signs of over-pressure loads. I will have a chrono to test the loads. So I am looking for general guidlines as to how much N320 people have "safely" loaded under a 115 grain CMJ loaded out to 1.155.

Thanks Again for your advice

Kurt

My VV guide shows 4.6gr with a 115gr Hornady XTP. Since a JHP takes up more case volume at the same overall length (which increases pressures) 4.6gr with an FMJ/CMJ would be safe...should be lower pressure. R,

How about a 124gr bullet? Would only need 1088 fps for 134pf. Might run the gun better, and have a little softer recoil. You'd also get to use less of that expensive powder per round. :roflol::cheers: (I still think a 8lb spring would be beneficial also.)

Edited by DWFAN

MG sent me a trail pack of 124 grain CMJ's last week when they shipped 4,000 of the 115 grain. So I can try a few but I have a lot of 115 grain I need to shoot before I can order more (or my wife lets me order more).