Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Sti Edge 40 Ipsc Major Load Help!

635 PCSO

I searched couldnt make up my mind, I am new to reloading. What do you suggest for a 40 MAJOR IPSC load in an 5 inch STI EDGE. Brass, Primer, Bullet, OAL, crimp and powder? I need to buy bulk to save money. This is a common sidearm in IPSC what is the popular load? I would like a soft shooting load that I can improve my shooting skill on. I jerk the trigger so a soft shooting load is a must. I have looked at a ton of load recipes, I need a newby load.. I just picked up an edge and a 550 press set up for 40. I have trained with a 686 and I am able to track the sights with a revolver. I am looking for a tame load that will allow me to grow and track sights with the Edge.

I would like to thank the expierianced reloaders and shooters in advance for all of the advice you offer to us new guys. It is priceless... I would like to pick a load and buy conponents and build and shoot. Soft shooting is a must due to me being recoil sensitive.

For a soft load I'd use 200grs instead of 180.

Here you are some recipes, all tested and used in my SVI Competition:

200 grs FPBB lead bullet

CCI 500 - Small Pistol Primers

Winchester/Fiocchi Brass

4.0 grs. Vihtavuori N320

1.200" O.A.L.

Moderate Taper or FCD Crimping

PF 175

Winchester/Fiocchi Brass

4.5 grs. Vihtavuori N340

1.200" O.A.L.

Strong Taper or FCD Crimping

PF 174

205 grs FP plated bullet

Winchester/Fiocchi Brass

4.4 grs. Vihtavuori N320

1.200" O.A.L.

Moderate Taper or FCD Crimping

PF 177

Please, approach these values by steps: I suggest you starting a couple tenths of grain (maybe .3 grs with the faster burning N320 powder) below the indicated load, and work up from that, verifying each load with a chrono and a thorough inspection of fired cases for overpressure signs.