Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Glock 21 SF and my bald spot target!

silvir

Hello all,

My problems is that I might under-spring my Glock and harm it in some way. I guess I am looking for advice if I am doing it wrong. I have bought the Wolff guide along with reduced recoil calibration pack for my Glock after developing a nice and fairly soft reload. My reload is 230gr HAP bullet over 5.2 grs of W231 which I have worked up from 4.8 grs. I was using the stock spring and my bald spot was the perfect bulleye for my brass. My friends suggested I place a cup on my head to make brass collection easier! I installed the reduced power striker spring and started testing 15, 14 and 12 pound springs. The 14# spring and my current reload skips them over my right shoulder about 3 feet to the rear. I was wondering if I should go to the 12# spring, I am still very new at this and think I might be doing some harm to the pistol. Anyone have experience in using reduced power recoil springs in a 21?

Thank you for the reply .... Silvir

Too funny. If you do a search in this forum you will find a thread I started a while ago on this very topic with the same gun and similar (if not the same) loads!

I played with grip, springs, you name it. I started using the IMSI springs and switched to the Wolff kit. I shot the 12lb recoil for a while. Now I use the 15lb with very, very few cases coming straight back now.

Here's what I think- the 21 is designed and likes full power loads. I've easily "calibrated" other Glocks to my loads- this 21SF was a royal bitch. At the end of the day- I think it just needed a LONG break in and like I said- a 15lb spring. A 14lb spring worked good to but I wanted a litte extra assurance to chamber the rounds.

I now have been using my 5.2g 231 loads but will be doing new loads at 5.3-5.4gr 231.