Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Open gun w/ optic

UW Mitch

I just started shooting open, so "finding the dot" is something I'm really working on. Between the match yesterday and the match a week ago, I made a lot of improvement being able to find the dot shooting freestyle. I'm left handed and left eye dominant. Yesterday at the match though, the COF called for 2 shots on each of 3 targets freestyle, manditory reload then 2 shots on each weak hand. The weak hand shooting I had a hard time finding the dot.

I shoot with both eyes open, ironsights and with the C-more. What I realized in my dryfire this morning is that I can "find the dot" with my weak hand and dominant eye by holding the gun "offset" a little and in front of my dominant eye (I think Matt Burkett talks about this technique in one of his videos, in contrast to tilting your head). I also found I could just as easily pick up the dot with my non dominant eye, and not have to offset the gun and extend my wrist quite as much by just holding the gun in front of my non dominant eye.

Question is: is this a dumb way to do it? Does everyone always use their dominant eye? Or for weak hand (right hand) should I use my non dominant eye (right eye)?

Thanks,

Mitch

I am also new at this (six months) but I always

use my dominant eye -

A little trick I've learned (I know about "muscle

memory", but there's a small bump or knob right

below the optic - I look at that and keep it at the

middle bottom of the optic until the red dot appears

I also keep the dot VeryBright - easier for me to

find it (I've had the same problem finding the dot).