Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Timer Software For Palm?

chunger

Hello,

I'm a complete newbie, but have been shopping around for gear to start up with. I'm also a penny-pinching techy-type (did a $100 home-made fuel injection computer for my car:)

I was wondering if anyone had thought about developing timer software for a Palm. . . I figured the program would not be all that complex . . . features and the user interface could be updated endlessly to fit training needs, and you get a screen many many times larger and more versatile than any other timer on the market. . . plus, you could have data-logging to save your entire practice session with notes to download and log in your PC later. . .

Plus, it's free. . . all you need for input and output hardware would be a cheap microphone and a cheap/loud beeper or buzzer.

Just a thought. . . figured I'd post and see if the idea was completely ludcrous or if it'd be worth the effort to pursue and develope.

ok, I'll go away now and figure out how to buy a first gun to start shooting with :)

-'Chung

I think that this could be a good idea, but could be difficult to get the inputs/outputs to make it run properly. I have been wondering when the timer manufacturers would add an interface for IR download. Also, I was thinking about buying a PACT MkIV (from our gracious host) with the chrono pieces. This model allows for the use of the IR printer; Would it allow the information to be dumped into a PDA? (Compac Pocket PC) It seems that would be handy. Whaddaya think?

Most complex part I guess ergonomically and functionally will be the I/O. . . mic and speaker setup. . . it'd probably have to be a separate box w/ it's own batteries.