Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Which would you recommend?

bagman

I've narrowed my search on the two models below. Which would you recommend? I'm new to the sport and am buying myself a birthday gift. Also, I have found a couple of places with decent pricing. $689 for the JM and $660 for the 5" both with shipping included in the price. Is the price about right?

Thanks.

Model 625-JM 4" 45ACP

This is a S&W Model: 625 JM

Caliber: .45ACP, Capacity: 6 Rounds, Barrel Length: 4", Front Sight: Gold Bead Black Patridge, Rear Sight: Adjustable, Grip: Wood Grips, Frame: Large, Finish: Matte Bead Blast

Overall Length: 9 3/8", Material: Stainless Steel

Model 625 5" 45ACP

(SKU #160927)

This is a S&W Model: 625

Caliber: .45ACP, Capacity: 6 Rounds, Barrel Length: 5", Front Sight: Patridge Front, Rear Sight: Adjustable, Grip: Rubber Grips, Frame: Large, Finish: Matte, Overall Length: 10 3/8"

Material: Stainless Steel

I am not sure about the prices, but you can go to www.gunsamerica.com and find the listed revolvers for sale and compare the price.

If you are going to shoot any steel matches you may consider a seven or eight shot revolver. I shot a steel match today and there were three revolver shooters on my squad. One had a six shooter and he ran dry a couple of times. I would check the rules of the sport you are going to compete in and use that as a guide for my purchase.

Good Luck, Buddy

Depends on which organizaton (idpa ,uspsa ,icore) you want to shoot in. The 4" is legal in all, but the 5" is only good in icore and uspsa. The 5" has got a better sight radius for shooting further out targets, but what it really comes down to is WHICH ONE YOU LIKE THE BEST.Pick the one that makes you giggle the most and shoot the crap out of it. :goof: Good luck with your choice .:cheers:

p.s. Gunbroker has a bunch listed right now LINKY TO GB

Scott

Depends on what you are going to shoot.