Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

CONSISTENCY

Ed Deegan

I am seeking constructive criticism so please comment freely.

Yesterday shot a match, 7 stages, lots of opportunities to shoot on the move.

This was probably my 10th or 11th USPSA match. My background is IDPA, but I enjoy USPSA as well.

The Good:

won a stage overall (by 0.02 HF). 1st time ever and am pretty darn proud of that, considering I run a SS. It and one other stage was that point where, as our distinguished host says, "watch the gun work" just happened. It was the second stage of the day, and I was the last shooter.

The Marginal

The "other" stage mentioned above, had a really good run going, and got that "watch the gun work" mental state, BUT had a 4.5 second transition to the last target (forgot about it), which sent a really really nice run into one not so nice.

The first stage of the day, I was asked to help keep score/run the buzzer and I wasn't prepared to do that, which is not an excuse just wasnt part of my mental preparation for the day. I didnt think through the shooting positions well enough and while the shooting was ok, I didnt get into the "observing" mode and got out-thought, resulting in 5 extra seconds moving between shooting positions. I shot first, I wasnt ready mentally.

The Classifier was my attempt to be slow down, be smoothe, and get good hits, with a good "Kodak moment" at the trigger with each shot (Riverdale Standards).

The Bad

The other 3 stages, 1 - I overran myself and had to stop and back up to get a target, flumoxxed me the rest of the stage and got a miss, another I had a miss shooting around a barricade, and the other, just got behind in my shooting.

Yesterday, was 2 of the 4 times in my life that I have found myself "watch the gun work" and that is THE best feeling in the world when it happens.