Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New Guy But Want To Shoot Multiple Divisions - Good Idea Or Not?

Bycyclist

I've been reading these for awhile - great forum, thanks to all the knowledge sharing.

Quick background:

I'm new to firearms, been shooting since last August, took a Burkett class in October, then started competing in my club matches.

Practicing what I learned from Matt, dryfiring, etc., I progressed from near dead last to first place over the last six matches, so now I'm branching out to local and regional IPSC/IDPA matches.

I'm getting a XD9Tac I'm planning to shoot in Production, and I also have a Wilson CQB planning to shoot in SS and possibly L10. For IDPA, same guns for Enhanced and CDP.

I know there is a lifetime of learning ahead of me, I'm just bummed that I waited till I was 41 - at least I can afford this habit now ;)

Quick question - is it a bad idea for an unclassified beginner to shoot multiple divisions in these sports? My thinking is that since I'm carving out the time and money, might as well shoot multiple guns/divisions at each match. Is that usually allowed? Is that a good idea or not?

Quick question - is it a bad idea for an unclassified beginner to shoot multiple divisions in these sports? My thinking is that since I'm carving out the time and money, might as well shoot multiple guns/divisions at each match. Is that usually allowed? Is that a good idea or not?