Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Sear Spring Installation

DogmaDog

OK, total newb question.  I removed the mainspring housing on a 1911 for the first time ever the other night, to replace it with a wilson mag chute.  Managed to get all the parts to go back on, and the gun seems to function just fine...

but there's this nagging doubt cause that leaf spring has all those processes sticking out, and where should they go??  Does my hammer feel slightly different when I cock it???  That sort of nagging doubt.

So the question is, is putting the sear spring back in your gun a no-brainer, or are there some tricky bits that I really need to pay attention to?

Are there any good online diagrams of how all those parts are supposed to fit together and interact on a 1911?

Thanks,

DogmaDog

If it works you are probably fine. Caution to make sure the spring on the left as you look at the back of the gun is on the sear. You can actually scoot it over while mainspring housing is in gun. All the flat springs are on the "outside" or you should see them with none under metal parts. Then put the mainspring housing in.

It's pretty simple. Reassembling the 1911's rear end 101: