Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Problem With Stages Involving Alot Of Movement!

Rumpy

Hi Guys,

I'm hoping a few of you maybe able to give me a few Idea's, or practice drills?

Here's the problem,

I'm relatively new to IPSC (12months), I'm a 'M' grade shooter. I can mix it up with the fast guys on short stages that require little(3-10) steps or no movement, but when it comes to the big 32rd'ers that require alot of movement, I'm always 3-8sec off the pace? My reloads are ok.

I know this is a pretty broad question, any idea's on how to improve would be appreciated.

Any chance you have some video??? You're asking a pretty nebulous question :)

Look at how fast you're physically moving, how efficiently you're moving, how you're leaving and entering positions, etc. Lots of small efficiencies to be gained in lots of places. Search the forums - lots of good stuff here already.

Without seeing what you're doing (or not doing), its tough to offer specific advice...

I went through this and still working on it. A couple of things that I had to work on. First was stage memory. Once the buzzer went off did I still know what where all the targets are. You'll be amazed how much time is added while searching for targets. I'm not talking about literally looking for a target but more like you know there is 3 targets past the wall but you don't know exactly where they are. So you go around the wall and the target is 5ft from where you thought it was, you do that very much and you can add couple of seconds easily. You'll notice the top guys are so precise from one target to another with transitions and splits. It looks like when they engage an array on the left then swing back to the right they literally throw the gun toward the next array. In my mind this is one of the things where being extremely aggressive works in shooting. You gotta get the gun to the next target as fast as possible. I need lots of work on this.