Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

First Time Poster With Newb Question:)

Dsav101

I am new to the sport of shooting and want to train to get into "shape" to try a IPSC style event. My question is very simple. At 50 yards do you use a regular IPSC target? If not what style target are you training? Being newer to shooting, would you start more at 50 yards or more at 25 yards? Right now I am concentrating on shooting groups more than anything. Also reading up alot as well. Thanks for the time!

Welcome to the forum!!

Although the long shot is important, I think you will find most shots to be less then 25 yards in IPSC. Have you visted a match yet, if not you should try to find one and spend a little time there and talk with a few of the shooters. You will learn a lot in just a short time.

George

I've been shooting 3 years now for USPSA, not sure where you live but if it's in the US your going to be shooting USPSA rules not the international IPSC rules..

I've only shot one match that had a 50 yd target... almost all the matches are between 7-20 yds.. Steel of course has specific distances you can shoot it from..

Take a look at the rules, keep working on your accuracy, visit a match... Accuracy is important as well as speed but the speed will come with experience.

good luck have fun.. be safe.

Jeff. B.

My advice is to find a club nearby that shoots USPSA/IPSC matches. If you are in USA then you may want to try this clubfinder that USPSA provides --> USPSA.org. On the right had side of the web-page is a place to put your zip code. The results will show the clubs in your area.

Most clubs organise a new-shooter safety course so contact them and get on that course. There is no real training to get in shape for IPSC. Doing it is the best way to get used to it.