Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

4756, 231 And Longshot In .38 Special

revchuck

Folks - I've pretty much committed myself to participate in a major USPSA match, shooting a 4" revolver. My match ammo will use Berry's 158 grain RN in .38 Special brass, loaded to 1.45". I've determined that 4756 and Longshot should work to make Minor, and already found out that 231 does from my guns. I've picked these powders because the data says I should be able to make Minor, and I have enough of each on hand to load the 1k bullets I have. ;)

Does anyone have any experience with these in this context? I'm concerned that these powders may be overly dirty (I already found that 231 is). Would using Fed 200s rather than 100s help on this? Any recommended recipes?

I had originally planned to do a long, drawn-out load development plan this summer (I'm a teacher), but the match is before the end of the school year. :rolleyes:

Thanks!

Stay away from the Fed200 magnum primer. In 38 Special all you require is the standard Federal primer.

I tried a few loads with SR-4756 and the 158 gr. Star Jacketed bullet. As I remember it was not particularly dirty and it did meter well. Never followed up with more experimentation since I switched to a 130 gr. Star FMJ with Titegroup for my 38 Special load.

As a slow burning powder Longshot is going to be awful dirty, in fact Hodgdon don't list it as far as I know for light loads.

4756 may also be dirty but nowhere near as bad as Longshot, it is similar in burn rate to WW540 and HS6.

231 would be my best choice of the three you list, but try and get some Clays and that will be clean as a whistle, same for N320. TG is a starter for this loads as well.

All the following make Minor PF

2.8gr Clays

3.2gr TiteGroup

3.7gr HP38

3.8gr 700-X

3.1gr Red Dot

4.0gr 231