Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Some Newbie Idpa Video

This was my second IDPA event and I'm very new at shooting so pls be kind. Just looking for a few tips. Gun is a .45acp 70 series Kimber Classic in Stainless

Stage 1

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=9069983873255264966

Time: 24.89

Points down: 0

Penalties: 0

Stage 2 String 1

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-202267626767008465

Stage 2 String 2

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=3934319624375991180

String 1 Time: 15.31

String 2 Time: 15.37

Points down: 7

Stage 3

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=5847056600746835086

Time: 20.43

Points down: 9

Penalties: 5 (FTN)

Stage 4 String 1

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-4506498658289854906

Stage 4 String 2

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-7811047356531798601

String 1 Time: 16.36 (fumble on T&R)

String 2 Time: 11.77

Points down: 2

You are shooting pretty solid for your second match. In IDPA, most of where you are going to pick up time is on the movement stuff. Just looking at your stage one video, see how you draw and go to shoot the first target? You shift and shuffle to get on it, instead of just getting right to it, smoothly. Later in the stage you get a cover call, and have to shuffle back.

In IDPA, you dont get much of a walkthrough, so that makes things harder, but you really have to know exactly where you need to go, and then you are able to get there quickly. Its only your second match, so this stuff is probobly not what you should focus on yet, but it ultimatly is where you will pick up time.