Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Anita Blake

Mistral404

Laurrel K. Hamilton's Anita Blake Vampire Killer books are excellent!  Anita Blake is a kick-ass board. Takes no off of anyone.

The guns and gun fights descriptions are actually pretty good for a woman writer.  [yeah i know, i expect to get slam for being a sexist pig]

Her books have all the elements:

Guns

Gunfights

Vampires, etc.

Sexuality

Some Sex

Decent plot and a fun story.

She has another series out that is pretty good also.

• 2 months later...

I've been reading Laurell K. Hamilton's Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter books since there were only three entries in the series. I like them very much, and I'm looking forward to her latest, Cerulean Sins, when it comes out in a few weeks. I have to give her low marks on gun stuff, though. I've actually considered - ever time I read one of her books - writing her and saying, "Look, I do this for a living. Please send the manuscript to me and I'll be happy to vet it before publication." In her last Anita book, we had (1) Anita's lecture on how AP ammo creates SO much more damage than standard hollowpoints (it's actually less damaging); (2) a Browning Hi-Power that has the safety on with the hammer down (impossible); and Anita deciding to answer the door to her apartment carrying her Hi-Power instead of an Uzi because, "If I need more than a 9mm to answer my own door...." Someone needs to tell Laurell the Uzi IS a 9mm.

• 1 month later...

The first several books were excellent reads. Unfortunately, the last few have been crap in my opinion. She went from something really fresh and interesting to something akin to a Harlequin romance with vampires.

Plus I always imagined she'd be much cooler with a pair of customized Para-Ordnance P12 or P13 .45s (or something similar from STI) in a double shoulder rig.