Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Help with consistency

I have been shooting USPSA for a solid 2 years now. Started regularly last year in Production. Switched to Carry optics this year. I was scrolling through some of the current post on here and read this response "Great run! Sometimes it seems like everything just falls into place and the gun just runs itself. It's an amazing thing to experience!"

This really hit home with me. I know exactly what they are referring to and have experienced it a number of times this year. Most of the time for one or 2 stages and very rarely an entire match. So what i am wondering is how a person hones that in to be the case the majority of the time. I am usually good for 1 or 2 really nice stages during a match and rarely can I string a pile of great stages together, but when that happens it feels great. Any advice is appreciated.

I have the same problem. I do better when I focus and visualize and I do worse when I disrespect a stage and don’t focus. I believe some of my problem is also that I’m still learning and not everything is natural yet which means we are still working pretty hard mentally and we see the effects both in our mistakes and also while the mistake is happening. What I mean is the mistake is a result of our skill and the consequences that follow for me at least are a result of my brain rebooting from the mistake. During the reboot I go into autopilot, the things I do well I continue to do well. Everything else is off until the brain works again, this used to take the rest of the stage, now its a few seconds. The better I get, the better autopilot is, the better I get the easier it is to focus on the stage and less about what I should be doing while running that stage.