Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Left Or Right

DavidV

Hello everybody,

I'm new to compitition shooting and have come across something I would like to run past you guys. By nature I am left handed left eye dominate but I do not always do everything left handed. Recently when working on strong and weak hand shooting I found out that I shoot better with my weak hand. One thing that I found out is when shooting with my strong hand (left) I use my left eye but when I shoot weak hand (right) I use my right eye. Also, my trigger control seems to be better with my weak hand then my strong hand. The thing is that I have a stigmatism (sp?) in my left eye which makes everything a little more blurry and harder for me to see the sights then with my right eye. Because of this I was wondering if I should try to shoot right handed which would also give me the ablility to use all the controls on the gun.

I hope this makes since and thanks for the feedback.

I think that this is going to be a very individual thing. You will have to try it, to find the answer that is right for you.

One of the guys I shoot with is mostly left handed, but he shoots righty, and does very well. I am right handed, and switching does not tempt me in the least.

added

You might have experienced a "trick of the day" in your weak hand shooting. Keep doing it, and see if you continue to get the same results.

Edited by wide45

• 4 weeks later...

I feel your pain. I'm a lefty but grew up being taught to shoot by right handed shooters. In the Army I didn't like getting brass in my face so I got used to shooting my M-16 right handed. I rarely shoot left handed except when practicing and when the course description calls for weak hand.......I always say I don't have one.

If you are left eye dominant, you may want to stick with southpaw. It gets weird crossing over. Some do it with success, however.