Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New To 40 S&w Reloading - Tips

Cotys

I'm new to 40 reloading. I've been looking over the forum. Any quick hints to help me get started.

In 45 ACP I've learned no AMERC brass and that WIN NT use SMALL pistol primers instead of LARGE.

I'll keep reading, just looking for a few starter pointers.

Coty

I've not had any trouble with any of the brass I've reloaded. Guns like SVI, STI, and Para have mags that are really for 10mm. So they work better if the rounds you load are at a 10mm length or close to it. But in order to do it you have to have the chamber freebored.

Everybody has a favorite load, with a favorite powder, and a favorite bullet. Mine is a zero 180gr hp in front of 4.8gr Solo 1000 at 1.25. That figures right at 168pf through my gun. No smoke, no recoil, no durt, good accuracy. BTW, solo 1000 is my favorite powder because I've got a s^$% load of it around here from trap shooting.

If you're loading for long length, like in a Para or STI, most load to about 1.18 to 1.20 OAL. For a Glock or what not, regular length is fine.

Since I mentioned Glock, once fired brass from ranges is cheap....but so much is shot from Glocks that have loose chambers that bulge cases. If you're loading for 1911 or match chambers, you'll need to do full length case resizing, either have them "rolled" or use an EGW or Lee Undersize sizing die, and you'll eliminate 99.9% of your feeding or chamber check problems.

You can double charge .40s pretty easily, it will all fit in the case with a lot of the various powders, so use a powder check with a Dillon 650, or visually check every case on other machines. Your gun will thank you. :P

3 best products I have found for .40: