Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Sd And Accuracy?

Pablo1234

What is the coralation between Standerd Deviation and Groupings. I'v been told that it means verry little in 50 yard range shooting when it comes to accuracy. I have a hard time beliving this; but I'm new to reloading. I'm shooting a CZ .40 cal in my bullseye leage and I have a group size of 2.75" at 50 yards.

I shoot

180g FMJ

titegroup 3.5g

sorted brass Winchester, RP, and Federal

@ 747fps S.D. 8

When I was using mixed brass consisting of every thing under the sun I had an S.D. of 36

I never checked my groups with the mixed brass; but I belive it helped a lot. On my bullseye forum ther telling me S.D. dosn't mean anything and mixed brass is as good as sorted brass. What do you think?

What is the coralation between Standerd Deviation and Groupings. I'v been told that it means verry little in 50 yard range shooting when it comes to accuracy. I have a hard time beliving this; but I'm new to reloading. I'm shooting a CZ .40 cal in my bullseye leage and I have a group size of 2.75" at 50 yards.

I shoot

180g FMJ

titegroup 3.5g

sorted brass Winchester, RP, and Federal

@ 747fps S.D. 8

When I was using mixed brass consisting of every thing under the sun I had an S.D. of 36

I never checked my groups with the mixed brass; but I belive it helped a lot. On my bullseye forum ther telling me S.D. dosn't mean anything and mixed brass is as good as sorted brass. What do you think?

I have had SD of 50 and groups of less than 2" at 50 yds (from a rest) (Gun was 9x25 115 WJHP, 1700 FPS. I have also had groups at ~1" at 25 yards (from a rest) mixed brass .45 Auto 180 LSWC powder WSF SD ~25. (Have had smaller SD in some loads that grouped worse.)

IMHO low SD is better, but the real test is how to gun/shooter groups the shots. May matter more in a rifle or pistol at longer ranges, especially if you are looking for sub 1MOA.

Agreed (for what it's worth - it isn't like I'm a professional, here :D ).