Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Which to get first?

Why not both?  Economics or domestic?  Since you can latch onto a suitable shotgun almost at will, I'd say save your money and get the rifle as soon as you can swing the cost.

On the other hand, you're more likely to be able to practice regularly with the shotgun (stand up the poppers and start whacking) so maybe you would want to get that first.

Does your club evenly divide 3-gun matches between rifle and shotgun?  If not, you might want to start with the one where you'd get the most match time.

Have I sufficiently muddied the waters?  You're welcome.

I'm no pro, but I'd say that the logistics involved with rifle shooting are far more formidable than with shotgunning.  

-You need a long range for a rifle, and most indoor ranges won't allow you to shoot them through their backstops

-You need to reload for rifles to achieve maximum accuracy, or buy expensive match ammo.  With SGs it doesn't matter so much

-A good rifle is more expensive than a good shotgun, probably by a factor of about 2.

So you'll probably get more live-fire trigger time with a shotgun, especially until you've worked out the logistics of a rifle.  And if live-fire trigger time is what makes you happy (why else would you be here?  :)), then get the shotgun first.

As discussed on another thread, rifle marksmanship seems to be disappearing as a mastered discipline.  Buying a .22 target rifle and shooting small targets at shorter ranges can go a long way in developing marksmanship...but .22s cost money too!

Semper Fi,

DogmaDog

Ian,

here is my 2 pennies.

If $ are an issue, buy one gun then the next is their stock or factory configuartion and practice as is.  Then have modifications as you can afford.