Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

FTDMFR's Range Journal

FTDMFR

This will be where I document all my practice sessions, match AARs and videos, etc.

A little background about myself: I've been shooting practical pistol for about four years. I started shooting IDPA in 2011, and started off shooting around 6 matches a year for the next three years. I started to get much more serious about shooting in late 2014, which is when I started shooting at least 2 IDPA matches a month and dry firing on a regular basis. I recently started shooting USPSA Production as well.

I'm fortunate enough to live with 45 minutes of four different ranges that hold IDPA or USPSA matches, and I'm able to shoot a match pretty much every day of every weekend.

I'm currently classified IDPA SSP Expert and USPSA Production B. Before the end of the year, I'd like to get match bumped to IDPA SSP MA and shoot a MA classifier score, and I'd like to make USPSA Production A.

Feedback is always welcome and appreciated!

GOALS FOR 2015

• Classifications
    • IPDA SSP MA
      • As of 6/15/15: SSP EX, 97.83s
    • USPSA Prod A
      • As of 6/15/15: Prod B, ~68.5%
  • Match Performance
    • 75% of matches shot "cleanly": >85% -0's/A's. No -3's/D's, misses, non-threats. No blown stage plans. No standing reloads. Minimal make up shots.
    • Use of mental program on 100% of stages
    • Use of detailed visualization on 100% of stages

PRACTICE SCHEDULE

• Dry fire: 5 days/week, 1 hour/day
  • Live fire: 2 days/mo (2nd Sun, 4th Sat)

MATCH SCHEDULE

• (4) IDPA matches per month (1st Sat, 2nd Sun, 3rd Sat, 4th Sat)
  • (3) USPSA matches per month (1st Sun, 2nd Sat, 4th Sun)

TO DO

• 6/15/15: Join live fire range
  • 6/15/15: Put together live fire practice kit
  • 6/15/15: Make dry fire targets (USPSA metric, USPSA standard, poppers)
Edited by FTDMFR

• Replies 82
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

STRENGTHS

• TBD

WEAKNESSES

• 6/15/15: Shooting on the move