Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Frame stiffness

Iggy42

Ok so for quite a while now I have been trying to figure out what it is about all polymer guns that just seems off to me. I bring it up here since I am currently running a 5.25 XDm in USPSA Limited and 3 gun.

Early in my shooting days I spent most of my time behind a 1911, so I came to love the weight and stiffness that an all metal framed gun has. Now that I have been running an XDm for a couple years I have found I am realy missing that aspect. Since I want to stay with my XDm (can't afford a 2011, plus my EDC is an XDs - I prefer to compete with roughly the same platform as I carry) does anyone have any idea on how I can stiffen the frame of my XDm. I imagine that stiffening it will impart the weight I am looking for (already running a tungsten guide rod and 1911 springs), but open to options there as well. One idea I have thought of is filling a rail mounted light with weights to give me more weight (seen a few Glock guys go that route), but I use a DAA holster in USPSA and I am trying to avoid replacing a bunch of equipment.

Ok so for quite a while now I have been trying to figure out what it is about all polymer guns that just seems off to me. I bring it up here since I am currently running a 5.25 XDm in USPSA Limited and 3 gun.