Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New trigger for old style 625

hopalong

Ok,

So I'm still rather new to revolvers as far as parts go:

Have 625-4 mfg in 1989 with .312 smooth trigger....

Have 610-2 mfg in 1999 with .400 smooth trigger....

I like the .400 better, have been looking in Brownells and they offer 2:

Option 1:

Trigger assembly, Smooth, .400" Floating hand SS. 45 ACP

Option 2:

Trigger Smooth, .400" MIM Blue 45 ACP

On the 625-4 when inside it there is a small groove cut in the frame that has a little piece that works with the trigger in it.

The 610 does not have this in it they are built slightly different

I know the 625-4 is one of the "old style" guns and the 610 isn't not only because of the internal parts but the 625 has the firing pin on the hammer too.

My Question: Which one of these are the correct ones to get? (if they are correct at all)

AND what is the small piece in the frame called and what does it do?

Vic you out there, or any one else more "informed" than I?

Thanks ahead of time.

SAM

You can change the trigger to about anything you want as long as you can mic the hook of the hand and get a new one the same thickness.

S&W still has some of the old parts. I converted my floating hand gun to standard because I use a wide trigger. The hand is the important thing unless you know how to file ratchets.

Regards,

Sam. I believe the small piece that slide up and down in the frame is called a "Hammer Block" When the the trigger is pulled it drops out of the way of the hammer. When the trigger is all the way forward it rest under the hammer just below the hammer nose pin. I think that is to keep it from firing if dropped. But on the rebound slide there is another "bump" that rests under a tang on the hammer that also will not let the hammer go forward if you strike the hammer without the trigger being in the rear. I think that is what you are describing. Any way "Merry Christmas Y'All"

Sam, I think maybe I can help: