Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Advice on first loads - start slow?

SWHlctx

I'm new to reloading and after reading reloading posts until I'm about blind and totally confused, I have a question on how to start.

As far as supplies go, I have been able to get ahold of Winchester Autocomp, Titegroup and Bullseye powders. Haven't bought any bullets yet, but I had planned on going with Bayou Bullet 9mm 147. Seems like everyone at my club is using them. Probably because we are close to them and the price.

While reading the various reloading posts I came across a couple that recommended starting with a lower weight bullet (115 or 124) and use FMJ or some other plated bullet to start. From what I understood the BB 147 is harder to get right and FMJ is easier to learn on?

Also read some posts that recommended starting with something other than Titegroup.

I'm planning on starting with some "dry" runs just to get the "feel" of loading on the 550B.

So I guess the question is do I start with the "learn on" loads or go with the 147 rounds I really want to make?

Nothing wrong with the 147's - you just need to crimp them properly.

You want to just remove the belling on the cartridge case, not actually

impart a crimp on the bullet.

To get started, adjust the belling die, and adjust the powder charge

(I'd say any of the powders should be okay, but not the greatest);

then adjust the seating depth - try to set the bullets just a little deeper

than is necessary to avoid the rifling in the barrel.

Then adjust the "crimp" or bell removal -

Take your barrel out of the gun, and use it to adjust both the seating

depth and the crimp - cartridges (dummy) should seat fully in the

chamber of the barrel.

Then, pull one bullet, and make sure you have not crimped so much

that you've scored the bullet.

If everything's good - you're set to try a few over your chrono.

Before you do any of this - spend a half hour reading

"Forums - Reloading - 9mm" .

Good luck. :cheers: