Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Ramshot Silhouette charge bar issues?

Dawgfish

I'm not a novice handloader by any means, having loaded about 4 million rounds on 1050 and 650 machines, but I ran into an issue for the first time ever, powder binding up the charge bar.

My current 650XL is about 6 years old, and I had just finished loading 500 rounds of .300 blackout. Switch everything over to 9x23 Winchester, trade out charge bars on the powder measure, get the powder charge correct, 8.9 gr of Silhouette, and have at it. Loaded 10 rounds, fit and functioned well in the pistol, and chronographed at 1465 FPS. Very little difference between the 10 rounds with a high of 1469 and a low of 1462. Very consistent charges. Used the pistol charge bar assembly (two pieces, stationary upper, moving lower).

So I start loading 500 rounds. About 300 rounds into the session the charge bar starts binding up. I remove it, tear it down, clean it out and it had a very fine grit, almost as if the powder was being fine ground. Reset, check charge levels, and start again, getting about 150 rounds more into the session, same thing. Cleaned it up, more fine grit, then reassembled and worked through the remaining rounds. Tore it down, cleaned, and then loaded another 500 rounds of .45acp, this time with 231, and I used the same powder measure, different charge bar. Ran like clockwork.

Anybody ever run into this before? In 25 years of reloading this is the first issue I've had like this.

I have 8 powder measures and this one is new, but it is doing double duty at the moment between .300 blackout and 9x23 Winchester. Changing out charge bars is a lot cheaper than buying a whole new powder measure, and after buying a few powder measure, I have a bunch of spare charge bars.

Thanks in advance.

I had the same problem with sp-2 years ago

Apparently it was enough of a problem that Arredondo made a special powder bar just for it