Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

My New Mondo Tumbler

ANeat

Hello everyone; With a little inspiration from EricW (Thanks Eric ;) ) and his Brass Weasel he recently posted about I have came up with my own creation. A little background information first. I am an electrical/electronics tech in a large machine shop. We have been replacing these motors that are used to feed the metal chips out of the machining center using a slow turning auger. They have a tendency of tearing up the keyway if overloaded a little and when that happens they get replaced. Another nice feature is rather than being 3 phase 480 volts like everything else we use these motors just happen to be 115vac :rolleyes:

Well with a little machine work and welding, along with a 5 gallon bucket this is what I came up with B) Not only do I have much more capacity than my previous tumbler but it cleans the brass so much faster. My brass is clean in just a couple of hours compared to running my other tumbler overnight.

Adam

tumbler.JPG

tumbler2.JPG

I'm convinced that when we do finally build starships and go cruising off to the far planets, you can count on three things being on board (whether the Captain wants them or not): five-gallon plastic buckets, copies of Playboy, and at least one 1911.

For the articles only of course ;)B)

Holy %$!@! A motor with actual gear reduction.

I dub thee Forum Tinkerer King. I am not worthy. I bow in the presence of greatness. B)

Thanks Eric; yes I got lucky finding a gear reduction setup. I forgot to mention it before but the bucket runs at 30rpm. I tried it first without any paddles in the bucket and it was taking forever to get the brass clean. Everything seemed to be "tumbling" just fine, perhaps I needed more rpm's ??

Anyway I added some paddles to the inside and the difference was like night and day :)

I may be getting some more motors in the future as we replace them so If you would like to tinker with one drop me a PM ;)