Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

RangeJunkies Practice Log

RangeJunkie

Well after a couple years of shooting, I'm going to give this thing a try. First a little background..

I'm 22 just graduated college in May of 2012. Picked up a pistol just as I turned 19, shot my first competition (a local steel match called Friday Night Steel) two weeks later and slowly got hooked since.

I dabbled around shooting that local match for about 2 years (once a month) until about a year and two months ago.

Kinda got pressured by a friend to try out uspsa, and off I went. I shot production for the two aforementioned years, as well as into the beginning of 2012.

Once I graduated college, I opened my own business, rewarding-yet time consuming. I decided that I wanted to switch divisions, and jumped into Open.

I ended up with a Trubor in 9Major. It was a rough start, I shot Glocks for years and jumping to a 2011 was very difficult. It took a few months to get the STI to run correctly (okay, I came from a Glock-pretty much no maintanence required lol) and since has been a pretty good pistol.

So as I start this out, USPSA #A-75423, I'm unclassified in everything besides Open, which I am @ 70% in B class.

I have no real goals for a classification, I just want to have fun.

Although, I spent years racing motocross before this, and became really proficient with that. Went to Amatuer nationals across the country and was about to turn pro before I had a really bad accident that put me into a wheelchair. Thankfully, I healed up 100%.

So to begin my log, tonight I started some dry fire, about 20 mins just to get acclamated to shooting again. The business consumed a majority of my summer into fall, so shooting fell to the wayside.

But hopefully, next year will be more stable and I'll be out on the range more.

I'm currently on the fence whether to keep my Trubor, or build an Open G17. I need to figure that one out soon.

So I look forward to this journey!

• Replies 90
  • Created