Jump to content
Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!
Ontarget

Classifier Rules question

Recommended Posts

On stage two of the classifier (strings 1 and 2), what is legal concerning the forward and rear fault lines? Can you touch the fault lines at all? I gave a procedural penalty to someone who clearly not just touched the forward fault line, but part of his foot was several inches past the line. Thank you.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On stage two of the classifier (strings 1 and 2), what is legal concerning the forward and rear fault lines? Can you touch the fault lines at all? I gave a procedural penalty to someone who clearly not just touched the forward fault line, but part of his foot was several inches past the line. Thank you.

Before or after last shot was fired?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For string one:

"Draw and advance toward targets, fire 2

shots at each T1 - T3 while moving

forward (all shots must be fired while

moving) there is a forward fault line at

the 5yd line for this string."

Although fault lines are not typically part of IDPA I'd say if they shot while over the forward line they would get a PE. In all the classifiers I have run (a lot) I have never seen someone do this. On Stage 2 if they go backwards too far I wouldn't have an issue and I don't suspect it would be to anyone's advantage anyway. It doesn't specify a rear fault line either.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On stage two of the classifier (strings 1 and 2), what is legal concerning the forward and rear fault lines? Can you touch the fault lines at all? I gave a procedural penalty to someone who clearly not just touched the forward fault line, but part of his foot was several inches past the line. Thank you.

The fault line doesn't have a specified width, so touching it and crossing it would seem to be the same thing. If you shoot after crossing the fault line, you've earned a procedural penalty.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In this case, the shooter's foot was on the ground past the line before the last shot was fired. I thought the procedural call was definite. But what if his foot had just touched the line? Then, I would not have been sure and probably not have called the penalty.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In this case, the shooter's foot was on the ground past the line before the last shot was fired. I thought the procedural call was definite. But what if his foot had just touched the line? Then, I would not have been sure and probably not have called the penalty.

It's never good to be eager to give out PEs. At our club we usually just marks the lines in the sand/dirt. Here's a guess- it was a relatively new shooter?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The way I read it, if the shooter PE's during a classifier, I let them re-shoot if they want (time and ammo are the concerns). I believe the goal is to shoot a clean classifier without gun or mental malfunctions, if possible.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well said Steve. As long as the classifier is not being used as part of a match, the shooter has the option to reshoot due to a gear failure or mental error.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

While maybe not the absolutely correct thing to do, with the idea that the classifier is to test your shooting skills (as opposed to your shooting-a-match skills) unless they step well over the line I would not give a procedural nor give them a reshoot.

Is there any advantage to being that extra 1 to the targets? Was it a mistake or an attempt to game it abit.

My club's classifier is usually pretty time-crunched, and has a heavy majority of marksmans (a good sign that we growing pretty quickly) so we tend to be a bit more subjective of the letter of the law.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...