Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

4.5 xdm mag issues and reloading question?

Landeeno

While doing a little practice loading and unloading I noticed that my mags just more or less fall outta my gun. Fully loaded or empty, or with 13 in it. Is there anything to install to make the mags just jump out of the gun when I hit the mag release? perhaps different springs or something? Im planning on a new set of 140mm base pads for a new magwell but what other things should I consider doing?

Ps, If theres any loads that you would recommend I'd also appreciate that. Getting started in the reload game and help would be awesome. Please just dont use short phrases and assume I know what they are because im BRAND NEW to the different powders and stuff like that. Ive always been a hunter and recoil and things like that have never been an issue, as long as it went fast, made a boom, and brought back some back straps then I gave that brand a thumbs up ha, I know how a bullet works, I know how to reload givin ive got all the correct gear in front of me I.E correct powders primers,bullets, etc. I just want to reduce the recoil in my XDM as low thats safe and still shoot major in USPSA limited. Grouping would be a nice touch to if I can have that also, I know its a little hard to ask for out of a XDM but I can wish?

Not really a whole lot you can do to make the mags "jump" out of the gun. They will fall out faster than you can reload as long as you don't hold the gun sideways.

What bullets and powders do you have? There are a of major loads for 40s on this board. Tell is what you have and we can point you in a good direction.