Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Cody M's Range Diary

polizei1

Hi everyone, my name is Cody Meyer and this is my range diary!

Background:

I’m currently 22 years old, I shot a couple of times when I was younger, but really started shooting when I joined the Marine Corps in 2009 (mostly rifles). I started shooting pistols and USPSA in July/August of 2011, and have a handful of matches under my belt. By 10/23/2011, I had my first classification as “D” class (low 30’s), not what I was hoping for, but I couldn’t ask for much more.

Fast forward a bit to this season, just last month I jumped up to a C class, 53.65%. Quite an improvement early on in the season, but I’m still not happy. Up until this point, I’ve only shot local matches, however I did have an opportunity to shoot the Ohio Sectional Championship and my first level 2 match this past weekend. If my calculations are correct, it should bump me up to 59.4%, just shy of making B class. To this point, I only have 12 (including the Ohio match) classifications, and being a new shooter, I have plenty of time to improve!

Now with all that said, right now due to financial concerns, I’m not able to join a local club and practice live fire, and ammo, even though I reload, is expensive. Currently, the only practice I’m getting is shooting two local matches/month, if possible. I’ve done some dry-firing in the house, but I normally just show up and shoot.