Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

My First Para is on the way (P18). Now what?

Buford!

So, I found a used P18 that looked to be in good condition (I don't have a round count on it) and it's on the way to me now. I'll be using it for 3-gunning and some IPSC shoots. I've read through a number of the threads here so I'm up to speed on the extractor situation. My question now is, being new to the Para brand and all, what other modifications should be done to make this gun a top performer? Top Performer = pull trigger, round fires, empty is ejected, new round loaded, repeat as necessary with no malfunctions. I'm coming from a Smith and Wesson M&P that has this routine nailed so I will expect a gun that will eventually cost well over twice the price to do the same. Your guidance is much appreciated.

I forgot to metion that I'm relatively new to the 1911 platform but I'm not afraid to get in and work on my weapons so if you post something it would be helpful to know if a reasonably intelligent guy could do it or if it should be done by a professional. Thanks!

Edited by Buford!

I have two Para's, a P12-45SS and a SX14-45BT, to both I added triggers from Dawson and EGW over sized bushings. The factory bushings on both were pretty loose. Other than that I bought lots of mags. They are both excellent shooters and I compare them closely with my Les Baer.

I looking for a P18 now, it will be my next purchase.

Roy - where can I go to get more educated on changing out the series 80 safety? Parts needed, process, etc.? Thanks.

Buford,

Remove the two levers in the frame, one from the hammer pin and one that rides on the sear pin. Use THIS to fill the empty space. Make sure to polish it nice and smooth first. Then remove the plunger and spring from the bottom of the slide (located right above the lever you just took out of the frame).

ETA: I just did a quick search on YouTube and found a video of someone removing the S80 parts and installing the frame slot blank: