Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Seating/Crimping Die

I am looking to free up a station in my Super 1050 and I am wondering if anyone knows of a quality crimping/seating combination die. I would like to add a bullet feeder die without having to get rid of my powder check station. Any ideas?

What I am trying to do is add a bullet feeder to my super 1050 press. All the research and videos I have seen, they take out the powder check and use that station for the bullet feeder die. I want to keep my powder check station and I want to take out my seating die and use that station for the bullet feeder. If I do that, that means on the last station, the crimping station, I will need to take out the crimping die and put in a die that will seat and crimp the bullet simultaneously. I am wondering first, if this idea will work because I am new to reloading. Second, if anyone knows of a quality die that will seat and crimp. And last, if there is a better way to accomplish what I am trying to do.

I was in the same boat you are when I purchased my first 1050. I settled with removing the powder check station and added the bullet feeder.

I simply watch each case come through and visually check the powder. It is very painless....and I swear it helps with shooting as my eyes get use to darting back and forth.

Steve

I have the same challenge and just ordered the RCBS seater/taper crimp die as I want to keep the powder check intact. I have received the dies but have not yet had the time to install and try it out - plus I still have a couple months wait before my new Mr. Bulletfeeder will be ready. In any event, the RCBS die is about $30 so no biggie if it does not work out.