Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Transition between guns...

Shadyscott999

I recently started shooting in Steel Challenge using a 22/45 with a Burris Fast Fire. My problem is, it is wreaking havoc when I go back to my IDPA/USPSA gun which is a Glock 22 with irons.

Anyone have any suggestions on how to make this work? I am sure it is a combination of grip angle difference and optic vs. iron.

I recently started shooting in Steel Challenge using a 22/45 with a Burris Fast Fire. My problem is, it is wreaking havoc when I go back to my IDPA/USPSA gun which is a Glock 22 with irons.

Anyone have any suggestions on how to make this work? I am sure it is a combination of grip angle difference and optic vs. iron.

When you say "wreaking havoc", what exactly is that? Is it that you can find the front sight or can't find the dot, is one easier than the other? Where do you shoot at?

My guess would be that it's a combination of the things you mentioned. I shot the Steel Nationals a few years back with a 1911 open gun and a S&W 22A with a Tasco 2000 on top. I had a hell of a time finding the dot on the 22 because of the grip angle being so different from the 1911. You'll probably do your best with the gun that you shoot the most, because of "muscle memory".

I found that by practicing with the 22A a bit that it pointed much higher than the 1911 because of the grip angle, so every time I came up on the targets I had to almost feel as if I was pointing it at the ground (in comparison to the 1911) to find the dot. I'd just "break" my wrists down a bit to get things aligned with the sight picture I needed and go from there.