Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Custom gun attributes

JerryShoots

Those of you who are experienced in the Bianchi Cup type matches please offer me some insight. I've been considering attempting this game for several years but I'd like some information first. I've noticed that several guns have shrouds of one type or another added to them in open. Do these shrouds usually involve removing part of the slide? Are different pre calculated optic adjustments made to lead the moving target or is it general practice to develop an appropriate lead of the sights at the various ranges?

If I do attempt to shoot a match I'll likely begin with a fairly simple 1911 to learn the rules and procedure. Would a .22 be a useful tool in the early stages of learning for this match?

Thank you

Hi JS-

A shroud normally doesn't require removing part of the slide.

For Open and Metallic there are options that add the lead for you so you can always aim at the center of the target. In Production you have to use just regular sights and estimate the lead. It is a different amount for each distance.

You can't use a 1911 in Production class, you would be in Metallic with that one. Still, it would not be a bad way to start. It's advisable to make sure you like it before building an Open gun.

A .22 is a useful tool for any level of shooter because it lets most of us shoot (practice) a lot more than we normally could afford to do.

JS. I shot Action Pistol for the first time ever last year. I have never shot a more challenging pistol sport. This had been a goal of mine for a long time. That being said I'll just say I was no newcomer to shooting. I'll turn 50 just prior to the 2012 Cup and you can bet I'll be there again. Once you shoot Action Pistol it gets in your blood.