Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Reloading for a .40 carbine

Chrisflhtc

Hi guys I am new to reloading and this site and want to reload .40's for My Beretta CX4 Storm(16 inch Barrel)

nl3a5l.jpg

I plan to load for plinking and possible hunting. I have been doing a lot of reading and searching and have been told that some of the slower powders will preform better. I am looking at longshot,autocomp and possibly HS6 I want to go as high a velocity as practical with out stressing the firearm too much. I think the 155 gr Hornady XTP may be the projectile I am going to go with unless there is a better one. I only want to load one type for both plinking and hunting so I don't hart to keep changing my set up.

2s64hnp.jpg

If I am going about this the wrong way I am sure one of you can set me straight. TIA.

I am really enjoying reading all the info here however there is just so much info I am being a bit overwhelmed. Thanks

Chris

Longshot and Autocomp will both give really good velocity in .40, but with such a long barrel, you may wind up exploring something even slower (not that you really need to). Purely going off book numbers, I'd be interested to see what VV 3N37, N350, 3N38 or N105 would do. Another one would be IMR 4756.

What are you going to be hunting? A 155gr XTP isn't bad bullet, but may not be a great choice for some hunting applications. R,

Longshot and Autocomp will both give really good velocity in .40, but with such a long barrel, you may wind up exploring something even slower (not that you really need to). Purely going off book numbers, I'd be interested to see what VV 3N37, N350, 3N38 or N105 would do. Another one would be IMR 4756.

What are you going to be hunting? A 155gr XTP isn't bad bullet, but may not be a great choice for some hunting applications. R,

First off, OP: welcome!