Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

standard variance in velocity from 45 acp making 170 PF

planenut

Hello,

I'm new to reloading and new to shooting IPSC.

With a friends help and assistance, I loaded up some 230 grain LRN (Home cast) bullets and WST powder. I've started with two different loads (4.0 and 4.2 grains).

I was suprised at the differnce in velocity. What is the normal amount of change in velocity between rounds of the same load?

I will have to start over once my gun gets back from Colt as I have been trying them with my short barrel Kimber 2.75 but am enjoying the experience and learning curve.

The 4.0 loads are getting anywhere from 605 to 658. Kimber 2.75 barrel

The 4.0 loads are getting anywhere from 685 to 725. Colt 5" barrel

The 4.2 laods are getting anywhere from 673 to 696. Kimber 2.75 barrel

The 4.2 loads are getting anywhere from 767 to 787. Colt 5" barrel

Thanks.

Edited by planenut

A good thing to do along the lines of "load development" is to graph the loads (velocities), charting changes at every 0.1 grain of powder.

Then you know the data for YOUR gun and YOUR loads...at a particular point in time/space. You may later see smaller variances due to barrel wear, temp., humidity, altitude, gyroscopic precession, magnetic declination... (oh wait...maybe not those last two:) ).

I can see where graphing would be very helpful.

It was a starting place for me.

It also seems that the 4.2 loads are more consistant. ie a spread of only around 20 fps from slowest to fastest whereas the weaker 4.0 loads had a spread of around 50 fps. 700 to 750 seems like a lot of variance while 730 to 750 not so much..

That was my original question that I did not word very clearly. What would the normal spread in velocity be for a given load of 45 acp?

Hey Billy,

I'm by no means an expert loader and others may have a lot more insight.