Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Trigger Control....

spook

Sometimes a random impulse causes your mind to wander off it's regular path of thoughts and you see things from a different perspective.

Something made me realize that when I pull the trigger on my revolver, I just control the hammer and the cylinder. It's funny because the first thing I noticed when I started shooting revo about two years ago, was that I couldn't hold the sights still when I pulled the trigger, so that became my focus. And in threads around these boards I kept (and keep) reading about how you shouldn't disturb sight picture when you pull the trigger. This subconsciously led me to pulling the sights off when I wasn't paying attention to the way I pulled the trigger. I linked the triggerpull to sight picture.

With my new focus (trigger finger controls hammer, nothing else) I've mentally separated the trigger finger from the sights. And all of a sudden I realized my hold control the sights.

Strange thing. I change the way I think and now I can pull the trigger as fast as I can while maintaining a perfect sight picture.

• 3 weeks later...