Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

"Safe" 44 magnum loads........

Freddie the Swede

i must tell you a story about a guy at mu local club who thought he was doing a safe thing with his 44 mag handloads.

Standing beside him at the range I heard him complain about the lousy accurcy of his new gun.

-Shit, this gun aint hitting anything, not even in the white!!!! (25 meters and 10 ring precision target).

Well, he comes over and ask me if I could spot for him and maybe see where the shots are going.

Ok I said, standing behind him I notice while he's shooting that he has a VERY weak load in that big 44 mag revolver.

-What load are you haveing I ask?

-His reply, It's a reduces target load as I'm new to the 44 mag and don't want to flinch while I learn to shoot it.

-Ok, I say. But it has to be very low as there is unburnt powder dripping from the muzzle everytime you lower the muzzle!!!

-yea, but it's nice and comfortable to shoot he replies.

We check the targets and he has not one shot in the target...

Five more shots and he walkes up to me saying. -Strange, the cylinder won't come out any more, not even rotate when I try to cock the hammer????

What had happend? The guy has 10 shots stuck in his barrel!!!! AMAZING that the gun did not go KABOOM.

Lesson learned, don't be too careful loading your ammo, you might get stuck.

The guy later told me that he had to have his gunsmith drill the bullets out as they where sitting so tight that it was impossible to knock them out.

Cheers

Fredrik Lundbeck

IPSC Tyresö

SWEDEN

PS. Please tell your funny handloading story as well.

Edited by Freddie the Swede