Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Newbie rifle reloading questions

elenius

I'm searching out all the old threads about reloading rifle rounds, which I've never done before. I've learned a lot, but I'm still not clear on a couple of things.

I'm going to use my 550.

First, as the topic says, which tools are good for uniforming the primer pocket and deburring the flash hole? Is this already done on the "100% prepared" brass from Top Brass?

Secondly, I'll describe how I *think* I should do things, and you can stop me where I'm wrong :)

I have this list of stuff to get:

- Dillon carbide 3-die set

- Dillon caliber conversion (and toolhead, stand)

- Dillon super swage

The die setup will be the usual:

Sizing/depriming/priming on station 1

Powder on station 2

Seating on station 3

Crimping on station 4

Supposing I have unprepped military brass, my understanding is that the necessary steps are:

1) Depriming and sizing

2) Cleaning

3) Reaming or swaging the primer pocket

4) Deburring the flash hole and uniforming the primer pocket

5) Trimming to length

6) Chamfering the case mouth inside and out

7) Prime, powder drop, seat, crimp

So this means each round goes in the press twice: At step (1), and then again at step (7).

But this means each round will also be sized twice, both during the initial depriming and then again during the actual loading. Is this ok? I.e. does the second sizing in effect do nothing because the case is already sized? Or do I have to take out this die before I start loading up the ammo?

What are you reloading for? For a precision gun I'd go with Redding dies, at least their competition seater. If you aren't loading precision stuff, no way would I bother with flash hole deburring or primer pocket uniforming. I think Brownell's just bought out Sinclair, so I would check there for tools.