Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

First Uspsa Match, Some Questions On Division And Equipment

shooting4fun

G'day All,

I'm in the process of getting registered for my first 'major' USPSA format match. I would like to gather some information/opinions/comments regarding which division and some equipment selection questions.

First off some background, I've been shooting at the club level for several years and have enjoyed that greatly. In these matches I've used Glocks of various calibers, 9x19 and 45acp. Not much difference to me which pistol platform, except there are some slight accessory considerations (mag holders) for me.

Since I've never shoot at a USPSA formal match before, I'm entering as unclassified. The division question has me in a bit of a quandary as the following: limited, limited 10, or production. I believe that I should be able to address the requirements except for the trigger in production, I would need to revert back to the stock connector to make the trigger pull.

I'd like to hear some recommendations / comments on the division selection. Principally, I'm going to have fun on this first one.

With regards to equipment questions, I've had a go at the USPSA rule book and I've not found a conclusive declaration regarding the use of an Uncle Mikes Kydex paddle holster along with a belt. Is this an acceptable configuration? Similarly, I've got magazine holders that are configured with a paddle. I'm hoping for some enlightenment on this issue, otherwise additional equipment procurement might be in order....

THXs in advance for your time and consideration. Looking forward to your insights.

Cheers!

Welcome to the forum!

Shoot which ever one you shoot best! For production you need not change your trigger. The 5 pound minimum is an IPSC rule. In USPSA there is no minimum pull weight. Most shoot 9x19 because the Division is scored minor. Your Uncle Mikes will be just fine.