Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

IronArcher from noob to ?

IronArcher

Loving the idea of an internet based log to keep me honest, and to keep record of where I came from and how I progress.

At the moment, I have ZERO experience shooting any practical sports.

I purchased my first centerfire semi-auto Just before Christmas 2015.
I have previously owned a centerfire revolver (Ruger Super Redhawks .44 mag w/scope) and a .22 Semi auto (Ruger Mk II Gov Comp Target model, with a red dot) Both were hunting guns. Deer w/the .44 Rabbits w/the .22 (Hitting a rabbit sized target on the move is a bit of a challenge...fun stuff). I also own a couple shotguns (again hunting and a little trap)

So save for a bit of trigger control w/the .22, I have nothing that really prepares me for competition shooting.

My weapon of choice is a Tanfoglio Witness Limited Pro. I am planning on shooting USPSA Production and IDPA SSP...Maybe ESP.

Mods up to this point include upgraded recoil, hammer, plunger, and firing pin springs along with a Hennings firing pin and Dawson front fiber optic front sight. Most trigger parts have been polished save for anything on the hammer and sear.

My first match is scheduled for Jan 31. It will be an indoor IDPA "style" match (not overly concerned about nit picking guns (no box) and concealment garments are rarely used.

Up to this point, I have only been able to shoot at indoor ranges a few times to sight in, and get used to working the gun, as well as dry fire drills.

I'm hoping the dry fire drills keep me from looking like a complete idiot, but I am going to be sure to let the MD, SOs etc know I have never competed before.

I welcome all advice/encouragement/critisism. At this point, at least I know enough to know I don't know what I am doing yet, but at least I can do it safely.

I have been reading as much as possible about the hows and whys of shooting, and the rules as well as watching YouTube vids more often than I should LOL.