Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How picky are you?

Buckrun

I have been casting bullets for years. When I use to cast .44 mag. for silhouette shooting. I’d look at each base for a defect. then I’d look all of them over before I added the gas check, sized and lubed. Now I am casting .45’s for short range fast shooting at relative large targets. I am not so picky. I usually cast a few different bullets and drop them into water. I will cast as fast as I can and sort out the bullets when I finish. While sorting I will toss a few that catch my eye as being bad. Then as I size I will cull out some more. I am sure there are some that I would not want to use for bullseye shooting or any long range shooting. But I haven’t really had any problems that I know of shooting a 12” circle at 50 ft. How picky do you get when sorting your cast bullets?

Steve

I'm a hard core inspector for my .45 bullets that are likely to be used at a match. I will admit that I'm a little looser with my .40 bullets since I only use them for practice. If the base has a minor defect, such as cutting the sprue a little too early, I usually keep it.

If I feel the urge to harden bullets, I use a lab oven instead of the water drop method. I can harden them better and if I feel the urge I can also "age" them.

At least for a new caster, water dropping keeps them from seeing all the mistakes they're making. For the experienced caster, water dropping works a lot better.

If I feel the urge to harden bullets, I use a lab oven instead of the water drop method. I can harden them better and if I feel the urge I can also "age" them.

At least for a new caster, water dropping keeps them from seeing all the mistakes they're making. For the experienced caster, water dropping works a lot better.

I have some questions.

First you said something about ageing. What does that do?

Second I am a little confused about the water hardning. What do you mean?

Steve