Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New guy to reloading and springs, wanted to get opinions on my setup f

evilbeef54

Hey guys, I searched and found a bunch of threads where everyone just said run a 13# recoil spring for minor and a 15# for major on a Glock 35. Here is my question specific to my gun though.

I am new to reloading and trying to get my ideal ammo for my Glock 35 in Prod so minor. Here is what i have so far:

180 grain Berry's FP copper coater, 3.8gr WST powder, 1.125 OAL, .42 crimp, Federal Match Primers.

even shooting these lighter loads i tried the following springs on my Lone Wolf SS polished guide rod, 13, 17, 22 (I also have a 15# and 20#)

It cycled with ALL of them, even the 22#. I didnt feel a real major change on recoil.

Before i started trying the different springs and the new batch of lighter ammo i shot about 150 rounds of some other reloads from the hotter batches i first made, just to get the gun dirty before trying the lighter stuff. Since the gun seems to cycle with the heavier springs, and neither the lighter or heavier springs seemd to have a noticable impact on felt recoil or accuracy (both kept everything in a 2-3" group at 7 yards with 10 rounds of rapid fire), should i run the heavier spring? Or will this lead to possible issues later with it not properly cycling. Or should i run the lighter spring this weekend just in case?

I was fairly suprised that none of the springs seemed to have a noticable feel difference, but then again i am used to shooting a few hundred rounds a week with a stock issued Sig 229 DAK so maybe i am just used to the heavier feel, everything is lighter and better on the glock than my service weapon, lol.