Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Concentricity gauge

Good afternoon everyone. My name is Gerimee, I'm just getting into long-range shooting. I'm currently having Dave at Spider Firearms build me a Ferret50 with a 33in. Lothar Walther Supermatch barrel and good friend of mine will be shooting .308(don't remember which model .308)..I will be reloading for both calibers. I have a Dillon 550B to start loading for the .308(I use the 550b for pistol rounds currently) and I purchased the Lee 50BMG press kit just to get me started. I have no experience with reloading rifle ammo, just ALOT of reading and compairing information from others.

I was told/read that bullet concentricity plays a big part in consistant rifle ammo(among other factors) and I'm torn between which gauge to get. I have it narrowed down between the H&H gauge and the Bersin gauge. Was thinking about getting the Bersin for the 50bmg and H&H for .308.

I spoke with Bill, who builds the H&H and he said he could make me a gauge for the 50 but currently does not have any made. The prices are with-in $20 of each caliber gauge (50BMG being more expensive than the smaller caliber gauge with both companies) so i'm not compairing price, just which gauge will work the best for the 50 and .308. They both allow me to measure and FIX the concentricity and thats what I'm looking for. I noticed Hornady makes one as well for the smaller calibers(not the 50) but the reviews weren't as good and I have read more bench-rest shooters use the H&H gauge at matches.

The Bersin Gauge is caliber specific so if I wanted to do other calibers, I would have to purchase different caliber inserts.(.223, 30-06)

*The 50BMG has its own dedicated gauge from both companies so the purchase of 2 gauges is necessary*

The H&H will do most calibers on one gauge from .22 PPC through .375 length cases. (.223 and larger)